Insights into Aging

That’s a proper boring title to a blogpost. Very adult-sounding-ly presumptuous.

Do we live anymore, or rather, has the definition of living rather rapidly changed over the past two decades? I feel like I rushed through my teens and twenties so that I could get to an age where phrases like, “Back in my day…” would be the accepted way to start my sentences. Wake up in the morning and talk to my reflection in the bathroom mirror as I shaved telling myself how back in my day shit like Dollar Shave Club wouldn’t fly and bemoan the neutering of my gender’s…muchness?

I feel like I waited to reach this age only to complain about how old I am now and I throw in those ‘when I was younger’ phrases to lend weight to whatever opinion I felt would most appropriately encapsulate how much older I am to whichever audience had been fooled into listening to me. My peers are no exception as I find I’m that guy in the group constantly throwing in the classic ‘remember when…?’ line when a lull in our conversations comes up. It’s not all bad though. Nostalgia is one hell of a drug and if you think me wrong (people in their late 20’s and above) just you listen to En Vogue’s Don’t Let Go,  the sick soundtrack to Set It Off (that’s a 1996 movie!! fuck!) and try and stop yourself from singing that hook.

Where is this coming from? I don’t know. I just finished re-watching HIMYM and I’ve queued up Californication and this shit is way better than what these kids are watching these days. Well, that’s not really fair. I thought HIMYM was blase, dumbed down TV the first time I watched it, which it was. People older than me loved to hate on how insipid it was. We all are ‘analogue people living in a digital age’ to quote a random chic whose privates Hank Moody promptly proceeds to plunder post-flattery. I really like(d) Californication. The writing and the classic rock references are truly sublime.

 

Leave a comment