Did You Hear About The Morgans?

“I promise never to take you for granted or utter a word unkind. Never allow my affections to be recanted or stop marvelling at your behind. To also marvel at your warmth, your wit, your refusal to condone animal slaughter, your wisdom, your laugh, your inability to boil water. To be your best friend for the rest of my life and to thank the God you’re not sure about for fooling you into being my wife.” Oh, Hugh Grant you utterly British man, you make me wet in my mind and make me want to write something. I was watching Did You Hear About The Morgans at home when I first began this note and didn’t quite know how to round it off and so I saved it as a draft, telling myself I’d finish it one day soon and fearing my writer bloc may strike at any literal sec……just kidding :-)

Being in love is not easy. For starters all these rules about dating and being all official, having to ask someone out verbally to start things off, marking that day by a celebration at first weekly, then as weeks fly past monthly and finally yearly (if you make it that long that is) and then all the talk and gossip on social sites and amongst your peers and if that’s not enough pressure there’s this expectation that is forever looming over your head about how you are supposed to act, date, breathe around each other to the point the spark goes and you end up hating and blaming each other or the world and all it’s ineffable rules…even though at the end of the day, it was all on you.

Speaking from a guy’s point of view and a unique one (the point of view that is) that is mine, I’m a rom com kinda guy but I am not. I do drink wine sometimes but other times I love scotch. That’s the kinda man I am. I give myself fully at first, expecting nothing, knowing it’s a blessing that whoever it is my affections are with at that moment is even talking to me. Thence commences several weeks of flighty ‘adolescent’ love in all it’s immense promise, whirlwind romance and no end imaginable…up until you realise (it’s easier if I did not acknowledge myself as the subject) this shit just could be it, and you’ll never get a chance to chat up that mami who keeps giving you the eye and that thou shalt have no money for every cent gained is an opportunity to show off how financially set you are, no matter how untrue that scenario is, and you allow all those societal pressures drown out the budding love (for in essence love is forever growing until the moment it is betrayed, though at this stage it is still in it’s infancy) and you end up alone…and so very cold.

Two weeks later and you’ve analysed every scene and you make her out as the badguy even though it honestly might have been noone’s fault…

Nowadays, what’s the difference between relations and relationships?

Leave a comment